Obsessed with Hockey

For the last few months Nicholas has been absolutely obsessed with hockey and golf. He puts on socks, pretends they are skates and “skates” around the family room.

Yesterday after swimming, there was a hockey practice going on in the arena, he stood on a chair and watched and watched and watched. He couldn’t get enough. Sigh, I’ve finally relented and am going to sign us up for a mom and tot skating class. Did I mention that I don’t skate well? Well the class starts tomorrow, so keep your fingers crossed that I don’t fall and land on the poor kid.

I went out last night to get him some skates and a helmet (as per the city’s requirements) Holy cr@p. I cannot believe how expensive it was! I bought the cheapie adjustable skates, so we should get at least 2 winters out of it, but the helmet was $60! How do parents afford to put their kids into hockey? At least he loves the skates and the helmet and is anxiously awaiting his 1st class tomorrow.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

