The haircut…

It’s inevitable, at some point or another most children try cutting their hair. I was lucky with Natalie, she never did. With Nicholas I have always had a small, nagging fear present in the back of my mind… One day he will cut those curls. Fast forward to last week. He was in his room for his “quiet time” while I was on the main floor tidying up. He hadn’t been in his room long at all when he came trotting down the stairs with a big goofy grin on his face. His hair was messy, even for him. He looked up at me and said “I makin myself bootiful, mom.” It was at that moment I noticed my favourite curl, a tight, defined ringlet hanging haphazardly & suspiciously low on his face. When I went to brush it out of his eyes, it came right off in my hand! “What did you do?” I asked through slightly clenched teeth. He simply grinned and repeated “I makin myself bootiful MOM!” As I stood there, holding the curl, I couldn’t help but laugh and think to myself that it could have been much worse. A few days before he had gotten a hold of Louie’s electric razor and ran it front to back on his head. Had he figured out how to turn it on, I would have been dealing with a reverse mohawk…

Leave a Reply

